Friday, August 24, 2007

My time to shine

(8)

Aha! Finally I (Laura) have control of the entry! Amy decided to let me sight see and took over the driving responsibilities for a little. Which means that I’m free to write whatever my heart contents. Anything from the itch on my ankle to where we stayed yesterday is fair game, if you ask me. Ok ok I wont bother you with the ankle thing… plus my ankle doesn’t actually itch, that was just an example. Anyway, last night we rolled into Moab at around 9 or 10. Arches itself was full (campsites… it wasn’t physically filled in with packing peanuts or foam or anything), so we found another campsite off our handy AAA campbook.

It said there was one about 9 miles up this small road, including 6 miles of gravel road, so we headed out there. Keep in mind it was pretty much pitch black out. The road started winding around a canyon, winding up the side of it. With steep sides. I was calm- I don’t normally drive off the road, why would now be any different? Amy on the other hand… Amy oh Amy. She was freaking out the entire time. When we got to where our campsite was, we decided that, eh, we didn’t want to stay there. Partly because we didn’t really know where we were, partly because we thought it was full (which we learned was not true later), so we turned around and looked for a motel. Did you realize that motels are expensive? The cheap one was going to be around $70. no way jose. Back to camping. We found a really nice site just north of Arches.

This morning we checked out the park, seeing as the last time I was there was when I was 3ft tall. It’s hard to see much with a dog, as they arent allowed most places. But we did some nice car viewing. Not watching cars. Don’t be silly. After looking at the awesome geology, and going ga-ga over some amazing cross-bedding (OMG it was beautiful! And I’m not even a soft rock geologist), we decided to go back to the scary cliff area from last night. And Amy was going to drive it. No, she didn’t kill us. Unless she did, and I came back from the dead to write this. Now you’ll never know if we made it back alive or not! HA! We drove along the road for about 30 minutes or so. It is incredibly beautiful there- I almost want to say that it’s more beautiful than Arches, but that feels like it’s blasphemous or something. So I wont actually say it… you can just know I was thinking it.

And now, now we are on our way to Santa Fe. At least that’s the plan. I’ll let you know later where we actually ended up.

Oh yeah, we still don’t have a cord to upload our pictures to the computer. If/when we get one, we’ll start uploading pictures (granted we have internet access- I’m thinking we should just start sitting nearby wi-fi hotspots and stealing it… we just are yet to go to that effort).

Peace out,

Laura


Written:

8/24/07 1:45pm

4 comments:

Unknown said...

You're funny, Laura.

Shelley Leong said...

I like the driving part about you...I would've been scared too though. I can sympathize with Amy. But Amy's a good driver - I remember from way back when, when Amy and I went on a driver together at Driver's Ed and she was really, really good.

Don't buy a cord, that's stupid (for the camera). Buy a video card reader, they're like 20 bucks and they're universal for all cameras. Amy has problems loading pictures from her camera through a cord. A video card uses the USB chip/video card from the camera directly to import images. They're just better...period.

Amy and Laura said...

Thank you for the compliment!! (this is from Amy, refering to Shelley's comment, though I know Laura would say the same to you, Sarah).

We bought a pack of adapters (15 bucks) that includes a USB extension cord, then four different adapters for tons of different things.

Anonymous said...

I can sympathize with issues about voicing random itches- Amy knows what I am talking about. Amy was freaking out? Nah, Amy is never afraid. In fact, Amy enjoys mocking others when they are afraid so its awfully dangerous for Amy to be terrified- its just begging for someone to come along and make fun of her. I guess this means I owe you a giant ‘THANK YOU!!!!’, Laura. God forbid we say anything blasphemous....