Monday, August 27, 2007

Accents

(12)


I have discovered that the reason that people often think that I talk funny, or that I have an accent, is that I take peoples accents. Completely unintentionally. After country concerts I would always speak with an accent (annoying Laura) and it wouldn't go away for hours. So in response to a comment Shelley made, saying "try taking their accent and seeing if they notice": multiple times I've talked to them and they have no idea I'm foreign. One person asking where I groom Max, "In Washington"- Ohhhhhh they say. They had no idea that the accent I was talking with wasn't local, wasn't just me copying them, without me even noticing. One time I spoke to a woman at a gas station and Laura could of sworn that she said a comment that made no sense, until I told her it was I who said it. But with her accent.

Just thought I'd write this, cause it was an interesting thing I've noticed.

Amy

3 comments:

peremere said...

Just as your journey takes you to new places, blogging is taking us to new places, too. How do we get to see the pics?

Shelley Leong said...

IS PEREMERE YOUR PARENTS?! THAT'S SO COOOOL.

BTW, Thank you for mentioning me your post. It makes me happy.

I hope you guys are happy. But that Max is happier.

Anonymous said...

Because you told me this over the phone I don't really have a comment. But, I happen to be listening to the soundtrack from what a girl wants and I will now type the lyrics to a nicely over dramatic song which will express my feelings about you being gone... “Lately something here doesn’t feel right. This is just a half life; Without you I am breaking down.”

please don't laugh at my singing- I try my hardest.